La Vuelta is Spain’s most important cycling race and one of the most important worldwide. It is the only three-week road race, along with the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France.

Organised for the first time in 1935, under the umbrella of the Informaciones newspaper, La Vuelta has grown exponentially over its 80+ year history. From the 14 stages of its first edition, it has grown to 21, its celebration has moved from April to August and its number of participants has increased by over one hundred. Throughout this journey, its organisation has changed hands several times: from Informaciones and the Ya newspaper to the Correo Español del Pueblo Vasco, before finally being under the management of Unipublic from 1979 to the present day.

Currently, the Spanish tour is a benchmark race that has expanded its borders with regards to its first editions, which took place only on Spanish soil. Today, La Vuelta is an international race that brings together the best riders in the world and that expands its prestigious victory tally by adding the world’s leading cyclists to it, year after year.

Follow us

Follow La Vuelta